Teachers of the Year Announced

(Courtesy of Orinda Union School District)
Shauna Yaeger, a first grade teacher at Wagner Ranch, was selected as the OUSD Teacher of the Year. She now competes at the county level.

    While in-person learning has only been a reality for a short time in Orinda, teachers have been hard at work the entire school year preparing lessons, learning new technologies and teaching online.
    To acknowledge their hard work, each Orinda Union School District (OUSD) site chose a teacher of the year through a comprehensive selection process. From those exemplary teachers, Shauna Yaeger from Wagner Ranch Elementary was named the OUSD Teacher of the Year.
    Congratulations to other 2020-21 Site Teachers of the Year: Scott Adams – Del Rey Elementary; Kathrynn Kang – Glorietta Elementary; science teacher Marshall Sachs – Orinda Intermediate School; Jennifer Kelly – Sleepy Hollow Elementary and Betsy Howe, who taught at more than one site.
    The district teacher of the year was chosen from the site winners. Site teachers of the year will be feted at a Rotarian dinner at a time and place to be announced with the district teacher of the year, honored at the Contra Costa County Office of Education dinner on Sept. 23 at the Concord Hilton.
    Following the announcement of the site winners, the district teacher of the year selection committee began conducting interviews and reviewing recorded lessons in order to make its final selection.
    “The best part of my whole year is going to the classrooms and watching the teachers,” said Director of Curriculum David Schrag. “While I had to be satisfied with watching recordings of their teaching this year, I was still so impressed with their passion, resilience and creativity.”
    The winner was announced at the OUSD Board of Trustees April 12 meeting. “I’m so humbled and truly grateful,” said Yaeger.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.